Holy Family, Kelso





“In The Spirit of Catherine MacAuley Award”

Holy Family School Kelso has introduced a new weekly award for students. The award recognizes the school’s charism and historical link to the Sisters of Mercy. Honouring the Founder of the Sisters of Mercy, the award is given weekly to a student who has demonstrated a sense of mercy and has carried out an act of kindness within the school community.

School Chaplain, Father Owen Gibbons was on hand to present the first two Catherine MacAuley Awards to students Jacob Gittany (Y6) and Juanita Hann (Y4). The school has also had a recent focus on the corporal and spiritual works of mercy which can also link to the new award.

School Principal, Mr Kevin Arrow said, ‘The Catherine MacAuley Award aims to further develop in students, a real sense of mercy work and we are encouraging the students to show acts of kindness to one other every day. This will be a practical lead in to the Year of Mercy at our school, which is coming up.’ 

2015 Paul Kelly Cup AFL State Champions - “Mission accomplished!” 

Monday 17th August 2015 will be a date long remembered by the Holy Family School (HFS) girls AFL team girls!  Having completed our mission at the preceding Bathurst, Orange and Blacktown AFL carnivals, our AFL girls were in the final eight teams for NSW schools.  At the historic Sydney Cricket Ground, the girls won their three pool matches:  HFS 45-0 Radford College, HFS 34-6 Bega Valley Public School, HFS 12-7 Hay Public School.  In our semi-final, HFS defeated Yamba Public School 38-0.  The final decider put HFS up against a very strong Cherrybrook Public School. In a close encounter, we took out the match 16-7.

Our team members were each presented with a state medal and Holy Family School received a State AFL Plaque to recognise this wonderful achievement.  

Congratulations to the team which includes: Tayla Brasier, Tula Foster, Micayla Asimus, Cushla Rue, Grace Pucci, Isabelle Renshaw, Emma Bromhead, Mia Ryan, Aaliyah Blenman, Talliah Blenman, Abbey Tilley, Georgia Lane, Kate Fallon, Taylah Noonan and Tomika Speer.

All team members displayed excellent sportsmanship and they promoted a very positive attitude towards their sport. Our girls were excellent representatives for our school.

Kevin Arrow 

2014 Archives

↑ Back to top