The Mysteries of the Rosary

The Twenty Mysteries of the Rosary

The following is a brief listing and description of all 20 Mysteries.

The Joyful Mysteries

  1. The Annunciation: The Archangel Gabriel "announces" to Mary that she shall conceive the Son of God.
  2. The Visitation: Mary visits her cousin Elizabeth, who is pregnant with John the Baptist.
  3. The Nativity: Jesus is born.
  4. The Presentation: Mary and Joseph "present" Jesus in the Temple where they meet Simeon.
  5. Finding of the child Jesus in the Temple: After losing Him, Mary and Joseph find young Jesus teaching the Rabbis in the Temple.

The Luminous Mysteries

  1. Christ's Baptism in the Jordan: The voice of the Father declares Jesus the beloved Son.
  2. The Wedding at Cana: Christ changes water into wine, his first public miracle.
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God: Jesus calls to conversion (cf. Mk 1:15) and forgives the sins of all who draw near to him.
  4. The Transfiguration: The glory of the Godhead shines forth from the face of Christ.
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist: Jesus offers the first Mass at the Last Supper with his apostles, establishing the sacramental foundation for all Christian living.

The Sorrowful Mysteries

  1. The Agony in the Garden: Jesus sweats water and blood while praying the night before his passion.
  2. The Scourging at the Pillar: Pilate has Jesus whipped.
  3. The Crowning with Thorns: Roman soldiers crown Jesus' head with thorns.
  4. The Carrying of the Cross: Jesus meets His mother and falls three times on the way up Calvary.
  5. The Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies before His mother and His apostle John.

The Glorious Mysteries

  1. The Resurrection: Jesus rises from the dead.
  2. The Ascension: Jesus leaves the Apostles and bodily "ascends" to heaven.
  3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit: The Apostles receive the Holy Spirit in tongues of fire in the upper room with Mary.
  4. The Assumption: Mary is taken bodily--assumed--into heaven by God at the end of her life here on earth.
  5. The Coronation: Mary is crowned Queen of Heaven and Earth


↑ Back to top