Local Catholics receive Australia Day Honours

Four people from our Diocese were recognised in this year's Australia Day Honours.

Parishioners Reg Ferguson (Dubbo), Noela Sikora and Bruce Bolam (Bathurst) and Michael White (Wellington) were all awarded the Order of Australia Medal (OAM).

The Order of Australia is the pre-eminent means of recognising Australians who have demonstrated outstanding service or exceptional achievement in service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group.

Reg Ferguson was given his award for service to the community of Dubbo. Reg is a "volunteer at St Mary's Villa (formerly Ozanam Villa), 1978-1997; Member, Fundraising Committee, 2005-2006. Member, Parish of St Brigid’s Catholic Church, Dubbo. Volunteer, St Vincent de Paul Society".

Noela also received her award for service to the community. She is a "Member, St Catherine's Nursing Home Auxiliary for 25 years; Secretary, for the past 15 years. Involved with Assumption Church since 1990".

Bruce's award was for service to the Bathurst community. He was "Mayor 1984-87, supports many local community groups, member of Rotary Club of Bathurst, since 1978".

Michael's award was for service to his community in Wellington. "Centres President, Bathurst Central Council, St Vincent de Paul Society covering 25 centres, for 3 years. Vice-President, Diocesan Council, for 3 years; Member, since 1967. President, Secretary and Treasurer, St Patrick's Conference, Wellington. Parishioner, St Patrick's Catholic Parish, Wellington".

In local Council awards, Bathurst Parishioner Neville Dawson was named Bathurst's Citizen of the Year. Neville has a 50 year history with the Rotary Club of Bathurst and was a foundation member of the Majellan and St. Pat's Clubs.

Congratulations to these people who have been recognised for putting themselves at the service of others.

↑ Back to top